This office is responsible for filing & protecting many legal documents including deeds, powers of attorney, land plats, military discharges & others.
Welcome to the Sequatchie County Register of Deeds
Documents available in the register’s office date back to 1857. Indexes and images are available online for these documents, however cross referencing is currently only available back to warranty deed book 100, deed of trust book 124, and miscellaneous book 58. We are working to update the cross reference information. Cross references will be added as it is entered into the system.
To access the online search service through TitleSearcher, click on the ‘Search Deeds’ link at the top of this page or the button directly below this section.
You can now electronically record your documents instead of making a trip to the courthouse. You can submit your document and have it recorded
General Information on the Register of Deeds
The primary function of the register is to make and preserve a record of instruments required or allowed by law to be filed or recorded, including but not limited to deeds, powers of attorney, mortgages, liens, contracts, plats, leases, judgments, wills, court orders, military discharges, papers under the Uniform Commercial Code, and other types of instruments. The records provide public notice of property ownership, liens, contracts, and other transactions that affect the public interest. The register's office is located in the county seat and the records and papers must remain in the office at all times. The register is responsible for collecting "transfer" and "mortgage" taxes. With some statutory exceptions, the register must collect a tax on the transfer of all interests in the real estate, and the "mortgage" tax on recording instruments which evidence an indebtedness. Currently, the State of Tennessee realty transfer tax is $0.37 per $100 of value or consideration, whichever is greater. Mortgage tax is ll.5 cents per $100 over $2000.00 of indebtedness. Other than the state taxs, the register is required to collect a register's fee for recording the documents. This fee varies according to the type and length of the instrument. The duties of the register can be found in Tennessee Annotated Code 8-21-1001. Thank you for visiting our site! If you need addition assistance or information, give us a call at 423-949-2512.